Uncategorized

Haircut!

I looked at myself in the mirror on Thursday night and didn’t like what I saw at all. My hair was a complete mess – scraggy, limp, lots of split ends and pretty sure there was some gravy in there too!

Something had to be done to make this scummy mummy feel a bit more yummy.

So on Friday, we piled in the car and off to Hempstead Valley shopping centre where I found a Supercuts! The great thing about this company is that you don’t have to book, you can just walk in and get sorted. So that’s what I did!

There was a 45 min wait and I couldn’t leave or I’d lose my spot so I sent James off to have some father-son time with Jack round the shops whilst I waited. And it was brilliant!

I sat for the first time in months and did nothing. I had no Jack to worry about entertaining, no internet on my phone to distract me so I just sat there and thought about anything and everything and how good it felt to be in my own company for a while.

Don’t get me wrong, I love, love, love being a mum and being with people but I hadn’t realised just how much I’d missed having significant, uninterupted alone time. Thinking about it, driving to and from work every day had been my reflection and thinking time before Jack came along and I hadn’t realised until the other day actually how important it is to have that.

Before long, it was my turn and I tell you what, having someone else wash your hair and really massage your head is bliss! I love it! If I was a rich person, I would have someone wash my hair for me every week!

I felt so much better once my hair had been cut. I felt lighter both physically and mentally after my me time, there’s now some shape to my hair and also not as much for Jack to pull!

I was trying to remember the last time I’d had it cut and it must have been around the 6 month pregnant mark… whoops!

I need to make sure I make more “me” time in the future, even if it’s just for an hour.

Leave a Reply

